Golden Birthday

Brendan has informed me that today is his golden birthday.  I had never heard of this before he mentioned it, but after doing some searching on the internet I found that my son was not the first to come up with this concept.  Your golden birthday is the birthday in which you turn the same age as the day on which you were born.  So, since he was born on the 9th and he’s turning 9 this year that means it’s his golden birthday.  Apparently I had my golden birthday 11 years ago and missed the memo.  (then again I think I have “golden” birthday’s every year, so I guess I didn’t miss much)

It’s hard to believe my baby is turning 9 years old already.  It seems like just yesterday that he came into our lives.  I remember that year Matt’s family all came down with strep throat at Christmas so we moved our Christmas celebration to New Year’s Day.  I was feeling every bit of my 35 weeks of pregnancy as we went through the celebration, and we ended up leaving early because I was having some uncomfortable braxton-hicks contractions.  Little did I know, this was just the first sign that my baby boy wouldn’t be waiting until February to make his appearance.

A week later, on January 8th, my brother’s wife (who was also pregnant and due in mid-January) checked into the hospital to induce labor.  I went to bed that night having given my mom instructions to call me when the baby was born, no matter what time it was.  Around 3:00 in the morning, I woke up and couldn’t sleep any more.  At that time I usually got up for work around 5:00 anyway, so I decided to read a book rather than try and go back to sleep.  My mom hadn’t called about the baby yet, so I figured either she’d decided to let me sleep or the baby hadn’t been born yet.

At the time that I woke up, I didn’t realize that my life was about to change forever.  I was still 4 weeks out from my due date, we hadn’t packed a bag for the hospital yet, I hadn’t arranged for my leave from work yet, to be blunt…we just weren’t ready to have this baby.  However, a little over an hour after I got up there could be no disputing that the baby would be coming early because my water broke.  Around the same time, my mom called to let me know my brother’s wife had had her baby as well.  So as long as my labor lasted less than 20 hours our babies would be sharing a birthday.

Which it did.  Just 6 hours later, at 10:36 in the morning my baby boy made his entrance into the world.  He was exactly 4 weeks early, and weighed 6 pounds 1/2 an ounce.  Despite his early arrival, he was perfectly healthy and fairly good sized (for being early of course).  We lucked out and he spent no time in the NICU.  He was able to come home with us right on schedule, and his only complication was jaundice for which he needed to be hooked up to a light at home for a week to get over (though as it turned out, the jaundice didn’t have anything to do with him being early as all three of my kids came home with the same problem and all three needed to be treated with light therapy).

The nine years since that day have sped by.  It seemed like forever to get Brendan from being a baby into pre-school, but once he started school time has just flown.  I can hardly believe that in just two more school years my baby will be starting middle school.  It just doesn’t seem possible.

So happy golden birthday to my special little guy.  Here’s to many many more wonderful years.

Leave a Reply

