Adjusting to Reality

I’ve returned home from my trip safe and sound.  After spending the majority of the day in the car travelling through bands of snow, I was completely exhausted by the time I reached home.  The sight of the kids at the garage door waiting to greet me was enough to perk me up considerably.  And we spent the evening catching up on the events of the weekend.

So now today I’m ready to resume my duties as mommy.  None of the kids have school today, so all are home with me.  I’ve got a few things I want to get done today that didn’t get done over the weekend, but that’s not how I want to spend my entire first day back.  The kids really missed me while I was gone, and I want to spend some time doing fun things with them.  I’ve told them if they help me get my things done, I’ll have more time for playing with them.  We’ll see how well that bribe works.

One of the things we did last night was go out and pick up the Fablehaven series that Brendan has gotten into.  He was only able to find the first book in the series at his library at school and was very disappointed that we couldn’t continue on to the other four.  We always do what we can to encourage our children to read and when they show an interest in a specific book or series we usually add it to our collection.  Such was the case with Fablehaven.  As I mentioned in a previous post the storyline is a bit darker than I would have expected Brendan to be into, but after reading through the first book he seems able to handle the subject matter of the stories and is eager to read more.  I know there’s a chance I’ll take criticism for allowing him to read something like this, but I trust Brendan…if he says he can handle it then I’ll provide him the opportunity.  After all, I read Stephen King’s It when I was around his age and loved it.  It’s still one of my favorite books today.

So at least part of our day will be spent diving into the second book of the series.  Meanwhile, Cameron and Kaylee can only it still reading for so long so we’ll plan some additional activities that they can enjoy.  All the kids got different board games for Christmas that we haven’t had a whole lot of time to play with yet.  So I figured we’d spend another chunk of our day playing with those.  It’s not often we have a full day where there is nothing pressing on our schedule and we can spend a full day doing things like these.  I’m really looking forward to it.

Ah, I think I hear the natives getting restless.  Their breakfast cartoon must be coming to an end.  Guess it’s time to get this party started.

Leave a Reply

