Tales From the Old West

When it comes to music, I have got a wide variety of tastes.  I grew up listening to my parents music; The Beatles, Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young, The Everly Brothers, etc.  In my early tween years my brother got me hooked on some of the hair bands from the 80’s; Poison, Metallica, Guns and Roses, Motley Crue, things like that.  My teenage years introduced me to country music; Garth Brooks, George Straight, Alan Jackson, there pretty much wasn’t a country song I didn’t like.  These days my husband, who has almost as varied tastes as I do in music, has me listening to a lot of modern rock.  (I admit though I can’t name any of those artists yet…give me time)

Because I’m so crazy and OCD I have tons of different play lists on my iPod with the different types of music I like, and sometimes specific artists sorted into separate categories.  That way when I’m in a country mood, country music is all that comes up.  I also have a few CD’s stored in my car and lately the one I’ve been playing pretty regularly has a bunch of Bon Jovi songs on it.

At first, Kaylee did not like listening to Bon Jovi.  Prior to listening to that we’d been on a pretty big Monkees kick and as soon as I would turn Bon Jovi on I’d hear shouts from the back seat of, “NOOOOOO!!  Not Jobi.  I want Sleepy Jeans!!”  Meaning, of course, that she didn’t want Bon Jovi (Jobi) on the radio she wanted me to play Daydream Believer (Sleepy Jeans) which is her and Cameron’s favorite Monkees song.

These days she’s grown used to “Jobi” playing and has stopped objecting so strenuously to having it played.  Brendan on the other hand is a huge fan of the music and from time to time we will catch him singing the songs from the backseat of the car.

A few weeks ago the whole family was riding in the car and had the CD playing along when one of my favorite songs by Bon Jovi came on, Blaze of Glory.  As we were listening to the song I turned to Matt and admitted that generally after hearing that song I get in the mood to watch the movie Young Guns.  I am aware that song was featured in the movie and is probably the reason that it puts me in the mood for it.  The funny thing about that is that I don’t believe I’ve ever actually seen Young Guns in full.  It came out when I was in 2nd or 3rd grade so I was a bit young for it then, and I’ve never taken the time to go back and watch it as an adult.

As we were having this conversation, Brendan interjects from the back seat and asks what Young Guns is.  Matt started to go through the basic synopsis of the movie explaining that it was set in the Old West.  Brendan listened to his explanation and said, “Oh!!  I get it.”  Then he paused for a moment and continued, “So would that be the Midwest, or the Southwest?”

Matt and I cracked up laughing.  When we got control over ourselves again, Matt explained that it was really neither.  He went on to explain what the Old West was and capped it off with telling Brendan that it was like Cowboys and Indians.  Brendan seemed to understand the expanded version, or at least he didn’t ask any more questions.  I wonder though if he truly understood.  Do kids even play Cowboys and Indians any more?  Or do they more likely play something like Cattle Ranchers and Native Americans?

Whatever his understanding level, between Jobi and the Old Midwest I’ve got myself some really funny kids.

Leave a Reply

