Memories

This morning I was going through some old files on my computer and cleaning things up that I don’t need any more.  I found something that Brendan did when he was about 6 years old, and I remember thinking at the time that I had to save it because it was just too cute not to.

My parents have been housing hockey players for about 6 years now and in that time they’ve had a dozen different kids live with them at various times.  Brendan used to get very attached to these boys and would be quite upset when they were traded or moved on to college as he couldn’t understand why they didn’t live with grandma and grandpa any longer.  I usually send a Facebook request to the guys living with my parents so I can follow their life and career after they leave.

One afternoon Brendan wanted to send emails to the boys and so we got on Facebook and sent messages to all the boys who had lived with my parents up to that point.  They were completely adorable and, while I did the typing, completely from Brendan.  Here they are for your viewing pleasure (the names of the hockey players have been removed):

Dear JS,

I love you. You are a great hockey player. I also miss you and want you to come back. I wish I could watch hockey in Sweeden. I don’t know what else to say. You did great in here. Bye.

Love,
Brendan

*********************************************************************************

Dear JS,

You do great hockey. You are a good player. You might go to Canada next year. I don’t know where that is, it might be in Africa or Alaska. You are my favorite. I miss you.

Love,
Brendan

*********************************************************************************

Dear AG,

You did great in here. You are doing great in Switzerland. I miss you AG. I wish you would come back, you were like part of our family. I like you and love you too. You play hockey. You played hockey here, so sweet.

Love,
Brendan

*********************************************************************************

 Dear Brendan

Thanks a lot for your message! How are you and your family doin? Are you playing and watching a lot of hockey? I heard you will get a new sibbling?!
I had an awesome time with you and your family! Too bad I could not stay longer with you guys! I miss yous a lot! I am doing great back home though. We are only two wins away from the champion. Looking forward to hear from you again! Say hi to everyone!

Love
AG

*********************************************************************************

Dear AG,

You do hockey great. You do great goaltending. If I have a little sister I will live in Cameron’s room, but if I have a brother I will stay in my room. I do watch a little hockey. Good luck on the championship.

Love,
Brendan

*********************************************************************************

Dear MW,

You play hockey great here. Did you play hockey before you came to here? You also play hockey very well. You are nice. Are you having fun in Ohio? I miss you. Is JK with you? I’m not sure why you have to be in Ohio. Why do you have to be out of town sometimes?

Love,
Brendan

*********************************************************************************

Dear JK,

You play hockey on ice. You play hockey really great. It’s kind of fun. You are nice, and you eat tootsies. You do really nice homework. I see you doing your homework a lot and its kind of nice too. Do you do your homework every night?

Love,
Brendan

*********************************************************************************

Dear IR,

Do you have a black eye still? How did you get a black eye? You did really great here. I don’t know what else to say. You are playing hockey in Ohio, that’s what the state is.

Love,
Brendan

*********************************************************************************

Dear IR,

Did JS push you down? I guess you are playing good in Ohio. I miss you.

Love,
Brendan

*********************************************************************************

Dear AB,

You played good here. I like you Andrew, you are so nice. You play good hockey in New Hampshire. I wish you were still here. Would you still live with Grandma and Grandpa?

Love,
Brendan

*********************************************************************************

Brendan,

Whats up little man? I wish i was still there to and yes i still would live with your grandparents. How is everything going like school and the hockey games? Talk to you soon.

AB

*********************************************************************************

Dear AB,

School is going great. How is hockey going? Did anybody knock you down?

Love,
Brendan

*********************************************************************************

Dear Brendan,

haha come on now noone knocks me down maybe if i actually got to play you would have saw that. Hockey is good we start playoffs friday and already clinched a spot to the national championship tournament

AB

*********************************************************************************

 

Leave a Reply

