Perfect Spring Day

It appears that spring might be just around the corner in our neck of the woods.  The temperatures have slowly been making their way upward during the day and dipping less and less at night.  I finally decided to pack away the kids winter coats for the season this week after the forecast showed temperatures staying in the spring coat range for a full 10 days.

Though it has been warmer and I can tell spring is not too far off it’s still been a bit too chilly to go out and do anything outside. Which was really disappointing because the kids have been off of school on spring break all week.  To be honest I’m not really sure why spring break was scheduled this early this year.  In past years it’s always fell right around Easter.  Now I know Easter falls really late this year, but still it seems that spring break should have been in late March, early April.  But I digress.  I knew that after a week inside the kids and I would all be going stir crazy, but as I didn’t think of that until the week before their break there wasn’t a whole lot of time to put activities together.  I decided just to wing it and hope for the best.

Monday was pretty much a blur for me.  I had to go in first thing that morning and get a root canal done.  This was the third time I’d had this same tooth worked on in the last three months and I knew I’d be pretty miserable from the experience.  Luckily Matt was able to stay home from work to be with the kids so I spent the morning trying to sleep off the Novocain and downing a whole lot of aspirin.  The kids were happy to have Matt home with them anyway since he’d been out of town the previous week.

Tuesday we didn’t really do much.  It was one of those rare days when everyone was content to play quietly together.  I broke up very few fights, and never once during the day heard the dreaded, “mom, I’m bored” chant from any of the children.  It was blissful.  Days like that don’t come along very often so I took advantage of it while I could.  I knew that it would be too much to hope that the kids would be content like that all week long so I began looking ahead to Wednesday.

Wednesday morning I woke up feeling amazingly refreshed.  Looking at the weather the temperatures were supposed to hit the low 60’s that day, warm enough I felt we could go outside in the afternoon so the kids could ride their scooters or possibly make a trek down to the park.  The kids are always looking for ways to earn money and I was in the mood to get some chores done so I laid out our day for them.  We’d do chores for a couple of hours that morning, and if all went well after lunch and rest we would head outside for a little while.

The kids did great.  We got through all of the chores I intended to way ahead of schedule, so instead of waiting until the afternoon we went out before lunch.  The boys donned helmets and began to scooter their way down to the park.  We have a park just a couple of doors down from the house but the equipment is more suited to toddlers up through maybe Cameron’s age.  So my kids much prefer to make the trek across the neighborhood to the other park which has much more challenging equipment.

Kaylee also got her scooter out originally, but was frustrated with it by the time we hit the end of the driveway.  So I quickly tossed it up onto our porch and she and I walked down to the park together.  It was the most perfect spring day.  The temperature was warm, not too hot not too cold.  There was a slight breeze blowing, enough to be pleasant without the ever present annoying blowing in your ears.  It was the first chance we’d had to visit the park since before school started last fall and the kids had a blast playing on the equipment and swinging on the swings.

park 1 park 2 park 3 park 4 park 5 park 6 park 7

All in all, it was a great afternoon.  Because it was so close to lunch time I intended to only stay down there for about an hour, but the kids were having such a good time that I stretched it out to an hour and a half and just made lunch a little late that day.  The best part was what happened when we were on our way home.

The boys had donned their helmets and were scootering ahead of Kaylee and I on the sidewalk.  Kaylee was running down the sidewalk trying desperately to catch up to her big brothers, but with short little legs she just couldn’t keep up with their wheels.  Twice she tripped over her own feet and fell to the sidewalk in a heap.  She cried a little and then would hop right back up and chase after the boys again.  When we were most of the way home Cameron stopped and let Kaylee and I catch up to him.  He was tired of riding his scooter and wanted to walk the rest of the way.  I broke my number one mom rule and offered to take the scooter for him the rest of the way.  To be honest I knew it would go faster if I did so.

It wasn’t 10 steps after that when Kaylee collapsed into a heap on the sidewalk yet again.  With her audience now grown to two people her alligator tears were a bit larger and her wails a bit louder.  She demanded that I hold her hand the rest of the way home so that she wouldn’t fall down any more.  With my hands now filled with Cameron’s scooter and the bag of sewing I’d taken to entertain myself at the park I had no more hands free to hold hers and I told her so.

Before she could even get an indignant wail out of her mouth, Cameron spoke up and said, “I’ll hold your hand Kaylee.”  And he did, all the way home.  park 8

 

One thought on “Perfect Spring Day

Leave a Reply

