Fresh Start

And so today another new year begins.

The start of the year is a time for new beginnings.  Resolutions are made, with the best of intentions of course, and the first few weeks of the year are filled with changes in our lives.

Sometimes the resolutions stick, other times they’re thrown out like last weeks garbage.  Either way, year after year we make these promises to ourselves that this year is going to be different than the last.

Well folks, this year is going to be different than the last.

I started this blog at a very different time in my life.  A time where, for the first time since I was a child myself, I wasn’t working a 40 hour a week job.  Instead I was busy trying to run a household while raising 2, 4, and 8 year old children.  While it was difficult to find time during the day to write about my children’s exploits, at those tender young ages they gave me so much fodder it was hard not to make time to sit at the computer and tell those tales.

At the time I told myself that as the kids got older finding time to write would get easier.  Kaylee wouldn’t always be underfoot 24 hours a day, Cameron wouldn’t be such a difficult toddler to manage, and Brendan wouldn’t need the amount of time and attention that he required back in those days.

Interestingly enough, I was right on all those counts.  My kids stopped needing as much of that type of attention just as I predicted they would.  What I did not foresee was that the amount of time they would require my attention would not decrease in the ways that I thought.  In fact, over the years, the time has increased ten fold.

I’m most certainly not complaining about the time I’ve had to spend taking care of my children’s needs.  All the change meant was that my blog posts went from almost daily, to weekly, to monthly, to sporadically whenever I remembered to get online and write.  Believe me, my kids have given me no less to write about then they were back when I started my blog, but I haven’t been taking the time to write about their exploits and that is something I’ve come to regret.

And so another new year begins, and this year my resolution is to breathe new life back into this blog that I love, and to keep sharing the stories of my children for as long as they have stories to tell.

Leave a Reply

